Updates and information from around GSO

South Carolina Quadrennial Conference Report 2018

By Tommy McGhee


The 108th Annual Conference and 12th Quadrennial Session of the South Carolina Conference was held Saturday, May 19, 2018, in Lake City, South Carolina.  It was my privilege to serve the conference as their presiding officer. It is always a joy to work with Bishop Greg Amos, who always has a well-organized schedule and agenda. Enrollment began with 385 registered delegates. Several more were added during the morning session.

After a welcome and introduction by Bishop Amos, I shared a core value presentation. Following the adoption of the Decorum Committee Report, the conference received and accepted the Examining Committee Report. Eighteen candidates were approved for Minister’s License, and three were recommended for ordination. A moving Memoirs Report was shared followed by a moment of silence, after which Bishop Amos led in prayer. I was blessed to lead in the Ordination Service for Eileen Croft Gunnells, Timmie Ray Hunt, and Manuel E. Flores.

Bishop Amos shared an excellent State of the Conference Report in which he stated:

”The South Carolina Conference is a special family. We rejoice together when one of our members rejoices. And we grieve when one grieves. We help each other and cheer each other on. We are truly better together! I believe the South Carolina Conference’s best days are ahead, not behind. May the Spirit of the Lord renew fresh fire of the Holy Spirit on all our ministers and churches! May we witness the undeniable presence and power of God, in the people of God fulfilling the purposes of God in our midst!”

Conference Secretary/Treasurer, Rev. Phyllis Underwood, shared a detailed Financial Report. The conference then began to give consideration of the Bylaws Committee Report.  After the adoption of the portions that relate to the officers of the conference, the election process began. The conference elected the following: Bishop Greg Amos, conference superintendent; Rev. Dean Morgan, assistant superintendent; Rev. Phyllis Underwood, secretary/treasurer; and Rev. Morris Smith, Discipleship Ministries director. These four individuals make up the Executive Committee. The Executive Council Members are Rev. Jimmy Lambert, Rev. H. Larry Jones, Rev. Hector Sanchez, Rev. Tim Hodge, and Rev. Allen Thompson.

Photo Credits: IPHC Communications

Leave a Reply